Farrell named World Rugby coach of the year

Ireland head coach Andy Farrell has been named World Rugby’s coach of the year at an awards ceremony in Paris on Sunday.

He won the award ahead of World Cup winner Jacques Nienaber of South Africa, New Zealand’s Ian Foster and Fiji’s Simon Raiwalui.

Farrell led Ireland to the Six Nations and Grand Slam this year.

Ireland only suffered one defeat in 2023, a 28-24 loss at the hands of New Zealand in the World Cup quarter-final.

Farrell also masterminded a victory over eventual champions South Africa in the pool stages of the World Cup.

Five Irish players, the joint highest along with France, were named in World Rugby’s men’s dream team of the year.

Bundee Aki, Dan Sheehan, Tahdg Furlong, Caelan Doris and Garry Ringrose were included in the team.

Centre Aki, who signed a contract extension until 2025 with the IRFU, was one of four players shortlisted World Rugby men’s player of the year, after scoring four tries during Ireland’s run to the World Cup quarter-finals.

The award was won by New Zealand loose forward Ardie Savea, who starred in the quarter-final win against Ireland.

Source: BBC